Picking a Downhill Longboard

So my friends recently discovered the joys of longboarding and they all want one now. So how do they decide which one to get?

First off, remember that longboards can get quite expensive. However, you don’t need the top end right away. Sure you could pick up a carbon evo and then some maguns for like 800 bucks, but if you’re a beginner, there’s no need to get such a good board. The first thing to do is to come out with a ballpark estimate on how much you want to spend. There are a lot of good boards under 200, and if you’re willing to buy used, there’s a lot more options.

Then determine what kind of riding you want to do. Carving, slaloming, down hilling, dancing, or just chillin and cruising around to get to places. Since I only do carving and downhilling and a bit of cruising, I will focus more on those.

Downhilling will usually be the most expensive, because the trucks and decks are highly specialized for extreme speeds and you don’t want them to break while you’re in the middle of a run. However, if you are buying your first speedboard, consider boards like the Evo, Hellcat, or Scorpion, but you can probably get away with boards like the Loaded Vanguard or the Loaded Dervish. These boards can easily handle speeds of 30 mph and are fun to cruise around and especially to carve. The three boards I mentioned above are probably more useful for mainly downhilling and some carving, where as the two Loaded’s are more for carving and cruising.

What you should generally look for in a speedboard is the stiffness and the concave. Downhill boards are generally stiff because flexy boards are unstable at higher speeds. However, a little flex is ok to absorb the impact of the ground. Concave is the way the side of a board curves up. It keeps the feet locked in which is important when you’re going 50 miles an hour.

Next are the trucks. Trucks play a huge part in how stable and turny the ride is. Some precision trucks can cost over 350 dollars, but no need to get them yet. Some good downhill trucks are Crails, Grizzlies, Randall Dh, and Randall RII 180’s. All of them are good and well keep you stable. My choice is the crail trucks, which I run on my Rayne Hellcat. I’ve seen people take it up to the 60 mph range, so that’s plenty for me. http://www.milehighskates.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=1147

Finally there are the wheels. The wheels control how much you drift around corners and how grippy they are. A popular choice is the retro zigs. http://www.milehighskates.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=1652 The limes are probably the perfect choice as they are soft enough to grip and hard enough for a smooth ride. Flywheels are also a popular choice, but a bit pricey. Currently I am running Seismic Blast Waves, which hold speed very well and can be drifted when needed. http://www.milehighskates.com/catalog/product_info.php?manufacturers_id=44&products_id=1503

One alternative would be a krackedskull. http://www.krackedskulls.com/

The boards are really cheap, and the components are surprisingly good. The good part of buying this board is if you ever want to ride something else, you can just swap the decks, as the parts are good enough for most boards. At 105 bucks, this is a highly recommended board.

A good place to start searching is on silverfishlongboarding.com/forum

Just sign up for free and search for a wealth of information.

Then, check out milehighskates.com

Everything on mile high is good, including the Sector 9’s. The owner swaps out all the shitty components and puts in the good stuff on every board, so anything on the site is good.

You can also email mark at info@milehigh.com, and he’ll literally respond within minutes.

If you guys have any questions hit me up and I’ll help you find a board.

Skate safe, wear a helmet, and have fun.

Damn Youtube kills the quality.

66 Responses to “Picking a Downhill Longboard”

  1. hey i’m trying to find a board probly in the $150 range if thats possible, i live in mobile alabama so theres plenty of steep hills around. ive been boarding on and off using my cousins board which is kinda small. i weigh 138 and just dont really know where to start.

  2. eh… a downhill deck or complete? If it’s a complete there aren’t too many options, but the good news is you can downhill with pretty much any board as long as you’ve got the skills.

    http://www.milehighskates.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=28&products_id=1863

    that’s a pretty good board, or check out other boards on his site because they are all generally good. But in general if you have about 250 you can a pretty nice complete. For 150ish i think any sector 9 complete would be good, depending on where you buy it. If you get it from the right places they will swap out the crap parts and put in better ones, and the price will be around 150 or less.

    But if you want a deck for 150ish then you have a ton of good choices.
    http://www.daddiesboardshop.com/raynelongboards.aspx
    hellcat or demonseed are excellent beginner speedboards.
    as well as anything on this page
    http://www.daddiesboardshop.com/kebbekracing.aspx

    actually most race decks are around 150ish, not counting foamcore/ other special ones.

  3. oh yeah i forgot to add one more thing.

    look for used boards. they will be a lot cheaper than buying new. Look through those two sites and maybe some other skateboard sites and try to find a longboard that looks appealing. Then search longboard sites like silverfishlongboarding.com in the classifieds to find a better deal.

  4. hey i’m currently deciding between the hellcat and the evo.. what do you suggest? this will be my first downhill board. on both of these i would get 852 bear grizzlies and 83a orangatang in heats

  5. Well it’s a matter of personal preference. How much do you weigh and are you going to be doing only DH? Plenty of people pick the evo because it’s ridiculously stable and it can kind of pump on flat land, but it’s pretty heavy too, so if you’re going to be carrying it around town or something it’s not going to be fun. The evo is also kinda good for mostly just going in a straight line really fast. Like I know plenty of people race with the evo but IMO it’s not too good for corners because you are more likely to drift out.

    For the hellcat, I would have to say it’s a lot more versatile, because you can ride it dropped through and be really stable, and topmount it as well if you want to have more leverage around corners. It’s also much lighter and easier to carry around. Both boards are great, so you can’t really go wrong with either one. BTW the hellcat and evo are completely different boards, so if you can tell me the usage of the boards, and maybe height I could help you pick better.

    and for the trucks if you’re going to get grizzles make sure you get the new generation because the old grizzles break a lot.

  6. Using internet is simple as hell. But I can tell y ou right now, it can be very hard, if you are the first time user.
    So, first thing I suggest – open the Explorer, and type in the address you like.
    You’ll get there really fast, it depends on your connection speed.
    Good luck.

  7. hey ive been longboarding for quite some time now and it was never serious until ive finally been able to get the money for a god board. I don’t really know which one to get. Im partial to landyachtz and i know i want to downhill but not major ones and i want some cruising. I was hoping a bamboo board but any board will do. Which board should i get? Im debating between “The Landyachtz The Switch” and “The Landyachtz chinook

    • I’m not really too familiar with either board but the chinook looks like its got flex to it which would make it a bit sketchier. That shouldn’t be too much of a problem if you can handle it though. Try out the boards if you can but I would go with the switch if you’re doing a lot of dh.

  8. this helped me alot im 15 and ive been longboarding for about a year now and my old board was not made for what i wanted to do the dervish is a great all around board thank you

  9. what do you think of the early oz team board cause thats what i want to get with bear grizzly’s and big zigs lime.

    this would be really helpful

    ( btw dervishes are awesome)

  10. ehh I’m not really sure as I have not seen the board but grizzly’s and big zigs would make a good combo for most dh decks. Just make sure the deck is stiff enough and has good concave and you should be good. Honestly any board that meets that criteria can be used for some serious downhilling. I’ve also never really been a fan of grizzlys or zigs but a lot of people ride them so you can’t go wrong either way.

    • i have a deal ( a really good one) for a first hand evo what should i do

      • If it’s a good deal then take it. I’m assuming you don’t know too much about DH so just try it out as a starting point. It’s a pretty good board although I’m not too big of a fan. Once you’ve been doing downhill enough you’ll figure out which boards you like. And if it’s a cheap then definitely take it.

  11. So I got a 56 inch sector 9 board …… this is used for casual boarding correct?

    • I haven’t really tried the board out but I assume by the length that yes it’s just for cruising around and maybe some dancing. Pretty much any board can be used just for cruising around and most of the sector 9 boards (with an exception of a few) are designed just for cruising around.

  12. i have left a few to many comments i think sorry bout it.
    the earthwing mystery model is looking really good to me. and my friend who is obsessed with dh, as in he doesn’t even think about anything else, says he’d buy five of them. i want to get one with zealous trucks and lime big zigs. advice?

    • haha it’s all good man. The mystery model is an extremely sick board and probably one of the best made boards in my opinion. My friend rides zealous too and he says they are his favorite trucks so I’m sure you can’t go wrong with that set up. Also zigs have kinda been a standard for a while so they should be fine. if you’re trying to freeride and slide I may suggest some sector 9 race formulas though as they grip well and can slide out a lot nicer than the big zigs, but like I said zigs pretty much set the standard for grippy dh wheels so your setup would be extremely nice.

      nice choice man

  13. hey im looking for a board between 200 to 350 for downhilling and compatisions im in South Australia and i will need stability at high speeds and able to turn and i do not want speed wobles!!

    • 200-350 complete or just a deck? Since you didn’t really give me much info I can’t really tell what you need, but I’ll give you my personal favorite setup. An avenger with crails and otangs should be around that price and should be definitely be race worthy but it also depends on your own skill. Try to skate more before you decide to race, and by then you’ll figure out what kind of board you really want.

  14. Hey man, are the Kracked Skulls okay with speed? I found out about them thx to your site. Cheers

    • I’ve only ridden one a few times but from what I recall there’s a little bit of flex and I didn’t find it the most comfortable for speed. If it’s your first board then it should be more than enough to practice riding and getting faster but I would suggest a different board if you want to go really fast. It’s a pretty good deal though as a starter.

  15. Man my friends and I just started longboarding, I have only used a dervish a few times but I loved it, specially the stability and speed. I was thinking of buying an evo or a hellcat but I’m not sure because of the evo’s price. What would you suggest? Is it totally worth the price? or should I go for the hellcat? I’m around 1.65-1.70m. and 52 kg.

    • I would suggest the hellcat, especially for your size. The evo is a good board but the hellcat just seems easier to get used to especially for the roads that the top skaters skate nowadays. The evo may be more stable in straights but I find the hellcat just as stable and more fun to corner with. Starting off with the hellcat will probably make it easier to transition into different boards as you progress and decide to try something new as well. The hellcat was actually my first downhill board and it definitely helped me get better at skating so I would suggest following that route as well.

  16. Hey, I used my best friend’s Loaded Vanguard for over a year, until he lent it out to someone else and it got stolen 😦 Is there a board that is just like it but less expensive?…$300 is just so much! All I want to use it for is downhill and carving and “getting around”. I’m petite at 5’2 and 115 LBs. Any advice is appreciated!

    Thanks

  17. Hey, I’m looking for a cruising/downhill board. My budget’s around 150 $ Any ideas. I live outside the States so There’s shipping

    • Yea, and I’m setting my eyes on a landyatchz switch

      • Where outside? If you’re from canada you can try hitting up switchback longboards to buy stuff. If you’re from europe you should buy brands like lush. Usually stuff shipped to europe from the US gets super expensive, and vice versa. But yeah the switch is a pretty dope board especially for cruising. Not sure what kind of riding you’re looking to do though……

  18. Hey man,
    It sounds like you are more than knowledgeable about boarding and I just want to say I admire your willingness to be so honest and helpful to all these people. In the future — not exactly sure when — I plan to open a longboard business. A buddy and I have already built two decks from scratch (the first board, my love, has beautiful wood streaked inlays of cherry, maple, ash, and oak). By the way, I plan on hand painting these boards. I absolutely love longboarding but to be honest I am not so informed of the different types of boarding and the desired attributes therein (basically I love boarding to death but know only very little about the technicalities). For example, if I wanted to adequately reach out to a wide variety of boarders, I may want to make numerous models/types to accommodate carving, slaloming, down hilling, cruising, etc. The question: What are the main longboarding styles and what attributes do each of the styles generally look for?
    I am hoping to make longboards of the highest possible quality for as low a price as I can afford. For now, I can just start with what we can afford but I’ve got dreams. 🙂
    -Chen

    • Hey man to be honest it seems like you may be looking a little bit too far ahead. My advice would be to start skating one discipline and stick with just that. Once you perfect one discipline then you can start moving on. If you look at brands like Loaded or Earthwing they kind of started making one type of board and then branched out from there. There’s a lot of boards out there and it’s hard to make a good board for a specific discipline if you’re not too familiar with it.

      As for a few of the main styles the biggest I see are downhilling, cruising, and slalom. Hardwheel sliding used to be pretty big but now it seems to be more softwheel and carving type boards. Try to focus on one variety first and once you’ve built a reputation start then maybe start branching out. Also you don’t have to be a super good skater to make good boards. Just have your friends or other people that are really good to get you some good feedback. That’s my two cents. Good luck man and let me know once you start getting bigger!

  19. Hey, i just bought a costom board with: Deck-never summer eclipse pintail 10 x 47, trucks-Randal Skateboard Trucks R-ii 180mm Flat, wheels-never summer longboard 72mm 78a, Bearings-bones reds. what could you tell me about how the board will run? will it be good for hilling? any suggestions of parts i should change?

    • Ehh not really sure cuz I’ve never ridden one but is it flexy? If it’s solid then you should be ok for smallerish hills but it seems like you might have a flexier deck, which makes it pretty sketchy for higher speeds. You might want to change the wheels too. Perhaps some sector 9 race forms or if you have a higher budget some otangs

      • why would i change the wheels. are never summer bad wheels?

      • Naw they’re not terrible but there’s better wheels out there especially if you’re trying to do any downhill. If you’re just cruising around then yeah those wheels should be ok

  20. you respond fast… how can i tell whether the board will be flexible or not?

    • …step on it and jump up and down. if the board bends it’s flexy. If it feels very solid then it’ll probably make a decent downhill deck but it’s hard to say without looking at it

  21. ok thanks

  22. i just thought of something. how do you stop?

  23. what if the wheels have a really good grip? are u still able 2 slide?

    • well once you get good it shouldn’t be too hard to slide anything, especially if you’re going fast. But yeah if you’re just starting out then get more slippery wheels to help you slide but grippy wheels will feel a lot safer at higher speeds. it’s really just personal preference but I prefer more grippy wheels unless i’m doing a lot of standup sliding

  24. hey i have been longboarding and skating for ages, i picked up longboarding because i couldnt go fast enough on my skateboard. i currently have the Maestro from Bustin boards and its a beast for cruising and carving. but i now want to go downhill and i am considering dh’ing Mt Bullar. (im Australian) its a pretty steep mountain and has some pretty gnarly corners. i need something with control, good at corners and stable. any suggestions? i was thinking of the Evo, Grom Race, Hellcat or the Switch.. would be much appreciated.

    Have a good one.
    p.s. oh and i am experianced and can slide and use gloves relitivly well.

    • That mountain sounds pretty intense so before you try anything you might want to try hitting up some of your fellow Australian boarders because I know the scene down there is very strong with some very talented riders. But as for a board I would avoid going for the Evo. It really just comes down to your preference. If you like topmounts I would suggest the rayne avenger, which is probably my all time favorite board. It’s great for cornering and can be pretty stable. I’m not too familiar with drop throughs but i did recently get a free killswitch which I’ve been riding around and that has been pretty fun too.
      I know that shipping stuff to Australia can be pretty expensive so maybe if you give me some brands that aren’t too expensive maybe I could help you out? It also depends a lot on your height, foot stance, etc. Like how comfortable are you on the Maestro? I’m kind of small so 38 inch decks are good for me, but some people have a wider stance and like bigger boards. Basically though anything that is rock solid can be used for downhilling but really it’s all personal preference. As a start I would maybe start with a drop through and then work your way to a topmount once you get more used to riding, but then again it’s a matter of personal choice.

  25. yea i heard the killswitch is pretty good. on my Maestro im pretty chilled with it, i can comfortably bomb hills and maintain good balance. my friend suggested the Demon Seed. he said i can ride his for a bit and see if its what i need. as for money its not really a problem because i will be going to New York a bit after chrismas and because of the Australian dollar it will be a good investment. im pretty tall, about 70k. and i prefer a board about 38”. im regular stance also.

    • Ok cool. Well if you like the Maestro’s length then you might not like the demonseed because it is rather big. The hellcat is around 38 i think. Also if you’re in new york check out the Comet boards. Comet makes some really sick boards like the Pagan and Voodoo. I’m sure if you go to the comet shop(in ithica i think) they will let you try out a variety of their boards and you can see what type of board you like.

  26. oh snap! i totally forgot about comet >.< i was looking at the voodoo doll this morning and it totally slippped my mind! its the board kyle chin rides in the 'Let Go' video. thats the stuff that gets me pumped.
    thanks so much man. i will be sure to link you a video of me doing bullar when i get around to it haha. i have hopes for a sponsorship but that might take another year or so.

  27. Hi, I’m lookingfor a goodstart downhiller, carver around $250 possibly. I weigh around 150lbs and i’m just interested in getting started in this stuff. And I do have a question. I’ve seen some boards go with no griptape, why is that? Do you even need it?

  28. hey! i have used my friend’s long board a couple of times for downhilling, now i wanna buy my own but i have no idea what would be good, cheap and safe to ride. Im a 5.4 girl 117 weight and i’d like to use it for cruising and riding to school, like i say im a newbie so i need something cheap, any ideas?!! thanks!

  29. I’ve been longboarding for a little while now and I’m looking to upgrade to a better board. I’ve been riding a Sector 9 Ghost Tree but I’m looking to find a replacement.
    If I decide to go for a Downhill board I plan on getting the Landyachtz Switch. On this board I want to be able to pick up some good speed but also allow myself to slide/drift. I’m not very sure on trucks and wheels though to do this.
    However I’ve taken a look at the Loaded Dervish and considering that as well. On this I would like to have a stable board for decent speeds but mostly to pull off some tricks. But again I don’t know to much about the type of trucks I need or wheels.
    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated 🙂

    • Well for trucks I would say the gold standard is still the r2 180’s however I have heard that the board was designed around bear trucks? Either way both trucks should be able to handle some speed if you get good enough. As for wheels it depends on the terrain you are riding. If you want some proven wheels the durians are very good and otangs also work really well once they are broken in. However my favorite wheels would have to be the sector 9 race series. The round lipped sector 9 wheels have an amazing drift and are much cheaper than otangs.

  30. I’m 6’2” 200 lbs and am looking for something to do a lot of sliding and dh with. I’ve been riding for over two years now but it’s been mainly cruising. I’m looking for something to defeat speed wobbles and at the same time can handle turns, carve, and slide.
    Do you have any suggestions?
    I’m looking for a complete set or something I can piece together. The cheaper the better but I do not want to sacrifice performance.
    Also, what websites, besides ebay, would you suggest to find used boards and parts?
    Thank you,
    Taylor

  31. Hey im looking for a good longboard that doesnt wobble while going downhill. I was deciding to choose either the apex 34 or 37, but if u have any other opinions on wat bored to choose then feel welcome to share.

    • I’m not really sure how much you weigh and everything but look through my responses to other people and look around. I pretty much recommend the same board to people for their first one, like the rayne hellcat and comet boards. Check around muirskate.com and milehighskates.com for some good boards and prices.

  32. ok so this summer im going to do some downhill longboarind and the current board i have is the sector nine j-bay (a 46″ bamboo pintail) which handles beatuifully at 30mph but would i be able to go down some more intense hills (looks about 40mph) with my orangatang inheats and slide gloves?

  33. what is a set up for downhill and carving

  34. Hey dude I love the info but have a question. I want a symmetrical dropdeck board that is good for downhill. I like the dropdeck feel and I already have a stock hybrid 35 from original but I want a good downhill/(bombing) board so I won’t have to worry about speed wobbles while I’m commuting in my hilly town. Any suggestions?

  35. Hey! Would the phd from c style be a good downhill board? Please let me know.

  36. hello. im not sure what board to get for dh and carving. i only need to go 30 mph. im pretty good at longboarding and have taken original pintails down hills. however im still not sure what to get. please help me. that wud be great.

  37. Hi,
    What would you suggest in the 200-400 range?
    I’m 190 cm tall and weigh around 75kg.
    I need a board for dh, however, it must be quite stable in turns at high speeds and stable during breaks at high speeds. I don’t know if it is possible to get this in a single board, but any suggestions would be great.

  38. Hi, I would like to mainly just carve and slide but I still want whatever board I get to be able to be stable at moderate speeds. Any suggestions? My price range is around $200

  39. hey,
    im looking for a longdoard i’v made a set up and i was wondering if its good for downhiling, freeriding and cruising. and just l local racing.
    will heres my setup i made:
    10ply ibach
    caliber 50 trucks
    and flashbacks 70mm 81a
    reply asap thankyou
    plz reply


Leave a comment